header
 
Brian Viglione über sein Mitwirken an "Ghosts I-IV"...

2005 noch auf Tour mit TR, zweieinhalb Jahre später schon auf einem NIN-Werk verewigt. Zu hören auf Track 19 und 22 von "Ghosts I-IV": Brian Viglione, zweite Hälfte und Drummer der Dresden Dolls, anno dazumal mit Partnerin Amanda Palmer im Vorprogramm der "With Teeth"-Tour tätig... "Schade nur, dass die Dresden Dolls, die großartige Vorband des Abends, bei diesem großangelegten Rock-Spektakel einfach untergehen musste. Trotz charmanter Zwischenansagen in deutscher Sprache und hinreißend naivem "Brechtian Punk Cabaret"."

[NIN / Dresden Dolls @ Arena (Open Air), Wien - 14.06.2005]

nin08-33

Und genau dieser Brian Viglione bloggt nun über seinen Studioaufenthalt mit TR...

"I had the great pleasure this past December to work with TR and contribute some drum tracks to the new album. Trent really opened the door for it to be a very creative experience and allowed him to achieve what he needed musically, while allowing me free reign to express myself and ideas on the drums. Here's a little re-cap of that weekend:

Day 1: Trent said, "I thought a fun art project for today would be to have you put some things together to play on and we could improv some stuff tonight. I don't really have room for a big drum kit and all the mics here, but, let your imagination go and we'll help you piece together what you need. When you get something together, we'll record tonight. Go nuts, see you in a few hours." So I put this together from stuff around his house, Home Depot, and the grocery store. It sounded cool as hell.

Day 2: Trent said, "I'd love to record you behind a full drum kit, so today, I'll send you and Alessandro to S.I.R. sound stage and you can just set up and play whatever comes to your mind. Try to make it a mix of styles and dynamics, loose to all-out playing. Give us a few different BPMs for each beat you play with the click, and have fun." So I did. The room was huge and so was the sound which came from the drums.

When I got back home from the afternoon of recording, Trent mentioned that he liked the sound of the junk kit recordings from the day before and would I mind doing a little more. So I went back into the room and put on the headphones and they said to me, "We're just going to give you a tempo on the click, play whatever comes into your head and improvise on it after you establish the basic groove."

I finished and hadn't even realized that I had just completed the drum part to a song that they had already finished up. The next morning they integrated my part into the song and it was a crazy feeling hear myself integrated into the music of a group who've I've been a fan of for years. It was a great experience and hope you all enjoy the music. You can hear my jivin' and wailin' on tracks 19 & 22.

Get it. Blast it. Start the pit at the show.

Much Love,
Brian"
[>]

[Interview with Brian Viglione @ The Boston Herald]

[ghosts.nin.com]

[nin.com] [ninblogs.wordpress.com] [myspace.com/nin]