header
 
Das neue Dreamteam: Trent & Saul. Letzterer bringt Licht ins Dunkle.

Saul Williams - Trent Reznor - Atticus Ross

Saul Williams gibt auf dem Messageboard seiner offiziellen Website Auskunft über die Zusammenarbeit mit Trent Reznor und sein dabei entstandenes neues Album:

"Here's the deal. The album is almost done. We have about 18-20 songs recorded. We've been taking time to listen and decide what needs further work etc. I'm very excited about the sound of the project as it truly sounds like the music I began envisioning around the time of Amethyst Rock Star that I hadn't developed the savvy to pull out of my mind and onto tape. During the recording of my second album, I was going for something much more specific, tempo driven and hard. Always hard, but this time, with the help of Trent, we've found something neither one of us have ever heard before. Hauntingly beautiful and in yer face when it needs to be. Fun. Blah blah.

No backburner, simply giving the music the time that it deserves. Also, I've decided not to talk to any labels until after the album is completed so as to truly gage excitement as opposed to, "hey, I think Timbaland could really re-work this into...". Fuck that. We are ensuring that the music maintains the quality and vison that we've invested into it, by presenting a finished product to the distributers. So we've been on our own timeline.

Trents been working extra hard as he's been recording his new material while also helping me record mine. Of course, we've fed off one another creatively and that's been really cool. Basically, I feel like I have a new friend/mentor. I've learned more than I could have ever imagined, not only about music, but about myself and my relationship to music. I am a musician, which sounds about as strange to me as it does to hear myself referred to as a poet. I guess I bought into the institutional power structure that says u r whatever ur resume says, way too much. Since all my credentials are in acting, I feel like that's the only thing I have the right to call myself. Now, I'm learning how all that training will serve to bring my vision to the stage as a musician.

It's a concept album. Pretty theatrical, yet still intensely personal. We're talking about the recording but the albums real life will be onstage. I'm so excited about the growing popularity of performance in connection with the fact that anyone can turn on their computers and make music nowadays. Sharing it via internet is one thing, bringing it to life on stage is another. I guess since the album is mostly recorded this has become my new excitement. The stage!! It's also nice to feel some clarity about what the fuck I'm doing in life. Focussing on music, poetry, and performance brings me a new clarity, which may sound strange to some, but the truth is I've spent the past 10 years feeling mostly like an out of work actor.

OK, so back to the album. We're scheduled to mix the album (with quite an exciting engineer!) in April. So that means I won't have anymore info until after that...although I could give out the title...

Chinese Democracy,

Saul"


[nin.com] [saulwilliams.com]